Michigan House of Representatives Local Government Committee



This venue doesn't have a description. Can you add one?

Future Events

- No events -

Past Events

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 from 8:30am-4:30pm
The People's Water Board is planning a Lobby Day in Lansing on January 31st, targeted at the Michigan House of Representatives Local Government Committee. We are organizing constituents of the Local Government Committee to meet with their representatives to discuss House Bill 4393 (Shut-Off Protections) and 4389/4390 (Decriminalizing Reconnection of Water Service). Our goal is to build relationships with the representatives and to build momentum for hearings on these bills. Above all, it is most important that we recruit constituents of the Local Government Committee to attend (the committee is listed below). PWB attendees are also welcome, and we humbly request that all PWB members who attend commit to a volunteer role to help make these meetings successful. It is possible that not all PWB attendees will have the opportunity to sit in on a meeting with a representative (as the focus is on the representatives hearing from their constituents), but we have many needs behind the scenes that folks can help with. If you would like to join us in Lansing on January 31st, 8:30 - 4:30, please complete this form as soon as possible (Firm deadline of January 28). https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfh-w5Byb2IiC49-CmD5Lp0vcz6xHUi41qXy07_Eb8Gh76MnQ/viewform And by all means, we welcome your support in getting folks from the districts below to attend. Here is a little bit of information about the bills. https://www.flipsnack.com/billsummary/bills-1-pager.html Call Eleanor (Faith Committee, Detroit Jews for Justice) with any questions you may have: 248.990.8049 The Local Government Committee: Committee Chair: James Lower (R) - Montcalm County, Gratiot County Julie Alexander (R) - Jackson County Roger Hauck (R) - all of Isabella County and ten townships in Midland County. Ben Frederick (R) - Shiawassee County and townships in Saginaw County. Gary Howell (R) - Lapeer County Jim Runestad (R) - Highland, White Lake, Springfield, Milford, and parts of Waterford Kathy Crawford (R) - Lyon Township, part of Northville, Novi, South Lyon and Walled Lake Terry Sabo (D) - Muskegon Jim Ellison (D) - Royal Oak and Madison Heights Patrick Green (D) - Center Line and the western portion of the city of Warren Jeremy Moss (D) - Southfield, Lathrup Village, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms and Franklin.